1000 Gifts

I began a few days ago looking at an app called 1000 Gifts. There is a book written by Ann Voskamp with that title. I have not read the book, but have looked at some of her blog postings and read descriptions. I am contemplating buying the book to read.

The idea of it seems to be, to be present in every moment, and grateful for every moment. find beauty and grace in simple details. Even in the hard or mundane stuff.

For me I am using the app to collect 1000 gifts, believing that by the time I have collected those 1000 gifts, it will be a way of life. Finding gifts in the everyday, mundane and yes, even the hard stuff. A thankful way of being.

It is easy to be thankful for the big things, family, children, spouses, house, job, and car. . .I could go on and on. It is not so easy to be in a long boring meeting, or waiting in a long line and finding a gift. A gift to be thankful for.

So that is what I am up to these days, trying to find a special gift, everyday, in a not so fun situation.

Leave a Reply

